Archive for June 5th, 2009

A Prize winner!

June 5, 2009

This poem was published in the National Poetry Anthology 2008. It was the first time I had plucked up the courage to enter my work in a competition, so imagine my delight to be published. As I sat last evening marvelling at the glory of the new moon, the lines came back to me. It will always hold a special place in my heart because of it’s subject and it’s achievement. Please enjoy  –

THE MOON

Madam Moonlight, Queen of night

spreads her silver

into the night.

Studs the blackness of the sky

with diamond chips

as she goes by.

Turns her face and looks below

to bathe the Earth

in a silver glow.

Her gauzy wings she softly spreads

o’er darkened streets

and sleepy heads.

Softer sister of the sun

she watches Earth

’til night is done;

hides her face in a clouded scarf,

sometimes quartered,

sometimes half.

She reigns in heaven’s canopy

polishing stars

for eternity.

And as the sun rises ever high,

she slips away

in daylit sky.

 

Ceemb 2008